An Admin role is required to create or edit User access and permissions in DubBot. If you do not see "Settings" in the top navigation of DubBot, you do not have an Admin role.

The following are steps that should be taken when creating a new user. Each step is outlined below.

  1. Create the New User

  2. Choose what Role the User will have in the account

  3. Optional, Add the User to specific Site(s) or Group(s) of Sites

  4. Save the User

Create a New User in your Account

Select "Settings" in the top navigation.

Under General Settings in the left navigation, select "Users."

Choose Settings from the DubBot (Secondary) Navigation in the header. Then select Users option below Account Settings.

To create a user, select the "Create User" button. The create user panel will display.

Create User button is below the Manage Users heading in the panel.

Enter the User Name—the User Name displays in DubBot communication tools and track history. The User Name is generally first and last name.

Enter the user's email. DubBot uses this email to send an email invitation upon user creation. DubBot also sends crawl reports and task notifications via this email address.

The Invite User panel has options for User Name, Email, and Role.

Choose a Role from the Role dropdown options

Note that the selected Role will be the user's Role for every Site in the account. If you would like to provision the User access to only specific Sites, select "Determined at Site/Group Level."

See the Groups overview article to learn how to provision the user additional Roles for particular site access.

See the Roles overview article to learn about the different abilities that correspond with the roles.

Role options in DubBot include four options: Determined at Site/Group Level, Viewer, Manager, and Admin

Assign the User to a specific Site or Group of sites

Decide what Sites or Groups you would like the user to belong to. If the user has the "Determined at Site/Group Level" Role, the user will need to be added to a Site or Group to have access to specific Site and Group reports.

Groups allow administrators to provision user(s) access and permissions for multiple Sites and to have an overarching Dashboard for the set of Sites in the Group.

Note: Direct Group and Site assignment can be used to upgrade a user(s) permissions for a specific Site or Group of sites over their designated account permission level.

To access the panel for upgrading a user's permissions for selected Site(s) or Group(s) of Sites, select the "Show additional Groups and Sites options" button.

Show additional Groups and Sites options will reveal the Group and Site chooser options. It will also show a notice telling the administrator that the user will still have access to every site and should only be used to provision additional permissions.

Site Assignment

To add the user to specific Sites, select the "Select sites" button in the Site Membership section.

Selecting Determined at Site/Group Level will result in Group and Site Membership options displaying in the new User interface. Site Membership options are below the Group Membership options.

A drawer will appear from the right side of the screen that allows you to select the desired Sites. A checkmark will appear next to the Sites that are selected.

The Select button is at the top of the Sites panel. The Select button finalizes the selection of Sites for a user.

Be sure to select the "Select" button at the top of the drawer to save the Sites selections.

Choose the Role the User will have for each Site.

Within the Site Membership panel, below the Select sites button, a role dropdown chooser will be available for each Site that a User is assigned.

Group Assignment

To add the user to the group, select the "Select groups" button in the Group Membership button.

Select Groups button option is below the Group Membership heading.

A drawer will appear from the right side of the screen that allows you to select the desired Groups. A checkmark will appear next to the Groups that are selected.

Be sure to select the "Save" button at the top of the drawer to save the Groups selections.

Save option is at the top of the selected Groups panel.

Save the new user

Finally, select the "Create" button. Doing so will automatically trigger an email to invite the user to sign up for an account.

Create option is below all user configuration options. Selecting Create is necessary to create the new user.

Did this answer your question?